Work vs. work

The hardest thing about being a comic book illustrator is budgeting.  I mean both time and money.  It seems to me that in order to accomplish all the things I want to do as an artist, I need to have money.  I need supplies, websites, computers, reference, and don’t even get me started about conventions.  This can get expensive.  I’ve found myself having to get work in non-comics related fields just to pay these bills and keep myself fed.  This other work takes away from my creative time, and, before I know, there is just means without the end.

While one might argue that the only thing an illustrator really needs is something to draw with and something to draw on, I find myself “requiring” all the bells and whistles to be a modern comics-creator.  So, to have all these things, one needs that income.  In an ideal world, the art would generate income, and the income could then be used to generate more art.  As things remain less-than-ideal, I have been spending too much time trying to make money to pay bills and… well, this is all just a long-winded way of saying I’ve been drawing a lot less than I want to in the past month.

It feels horrible.  However, I’m turning things around, and, as my work slows down, the real Work can begin… again.

Here’s a sketch I did today during lunch.  It felt good to draw…

photo

About Sam Garland

Freelance illustrator specializing in science fiction and fantasy artwork.

Posted on September 25, 2013, in Sketchbook, Spacesuits Required and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

